Competing with Meal Delivery Service

Tony Orlando, Golden Dawn Supermarket 

Online and call-in meal delivery service is here to stay as an offering for many grocery stores. As it becomes more popular, strategies to provide customer convenience and unique services are becoming important ways to survive. Discuss current trends and out-of-the box ways to compete with service offerings.

  • Essential tools needed for building a successful gourmet Deli/Prepared Foods business in-store and take home meals
  • Equipment needs: examples Stove, Stack Ovens, Pressure cookers, bowls, packaging, insulated carriers, storage containers, kitchen utensils
  • Procuring of quality foods for scratch prepared salads, and entrées
  • High quality menu items to choose, including must-have foods
  • Cross merchandising with your meat and produce departments
  • Opening up selling opportunities with local business thru sampling
  • Staging one-day or weekend sampling festivals inside stores
  • Knowing the food safety laws, and staying up with sanitation
  • Owner involvement is a must for any growth, and success, and why
  • What is the market I want to pursue, and how to do it
  • Gross profit margins: How do you achieve higher profits?
  • Hiring quality associates, and proper training in the art of selling


Dealing With Amazon

 

Growing Digital!

 

Customer Service – Don’t Let Convenience Go Too Far

 

 

Group Members

American Dairy Association Mideast Tracy Enslen tracy.enslen@drink-milk.com
Associated Wholesale Grocers Keith Ballinger kballinger@awginc.com
The CareWorks Family of Companies
Columbiana Foods Ron Graff Jr. ron.graff.jr@gianteagle.com
Federated Insurance Conner Bland tcbland@fedins.com
Kelly’s Market Mike George mgeorge18@gmail.com
Merchant Distributors, Inc. Jeff Osborne jeff.osborne@merchantdistributors.com
Schwebel Baking Co. Lee Schwebel leeschwebel@schwebels.com
Sutton’s Foods Joshua Ulrage josh.suttonsfood@gmail.com
Wagner’s IGA Holly Eshelman holly@wagnersiga.com

Ohio Grocer Association
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial